Flower of life kaleidoscope


The flower of life is a geometrical shape composed of multiple evenly-spaced, overlapping circles arranged in a flower like pattern with six fold symmetry like a hexagon.

Credits: A Parks and tportal.hr via Janet Bouchard, kaleidoscope and Pinterest, Token Rock

Vijay’s classic GIFs 2007-2011 – 51


Amarnatheshwar – Lord Shiva as the lord of the Himalayas, captured here on the famous lingam made from snow at Amarnath, a place of pilgrimage in Jammu and Kashmir, India.

GIF: amarnatheswer                                                                                                    DATE: 14/12/2007

Credits: Ratedesi Forums

Lord Vishnu and Garuda

Steadfastness in sacrifice, austerity and gift, is also called “sat”; and also action in connection with these (or for the sake of the supreme) is called “sat.”
Whatever is sacrificed, given or performed, and whatever austerity is practiced without faith, it is called “asat,” Oh Arjuna. It is naught here or hereafter (after death).

Credits: Blogger via Global Organization of Hindus and Facebook

Lord Vishnu – the conch and austerity

This threefold austerity, practiced by steadfast men with the utmost faith, desiring no reward, they call sattvika.
The austerity which is practiced with the object of gaining good reception, honor and worship, and with hypocrisy is here said to be rajasa, unstable and transitory.

That austerity which is practiced out of a foolish notion, with self-torture, or for the purpose of destroying another, is declared to be tamasa.

It is strange that even the three types of austerity (of body, speech and mind) can be practiced in a rajasa or tamasa way! – though the words “This threefold austerity” may apply only to the first verse and the other two may allude to other forms of austerity – in which case the meaning is abundantly clear and simple.

The most noble deeds can be performed hypocritically, but the effect will be the very opposite of what is desired. There is, however, a saving feature in such hypocritical good work and austerity – they are “unstable and transitory.” Hypocrisy has been unequivocally condemned in all our scriptures, but it has always existed. Hypocrites have their little day! It is true that their magic spell ends soon, but not soon enough to minimize the havoc caused. The genius of the hypocrite uses a noble garb and sometimes it is impossible to detect him before he has achieved his purpose, though this is always a short-lived one. Let us be thankful for small mercies!

The third category is an allusion to the demoniacal type of austerity. It is difficult to see how it can satisfy the standards of the austerity of mind mentioned in verse 16. There is, however, no limit to the perversions of the tamasa or deluded mind that can always interpret scriptures in its own way!

~~ Swami Venkateshananda

Credits: vishnu108 and DeviantArt via Global Organization of Hindus and Facebook

Shiva and fellow gods


In Hinduism (Sanatan Dharma), there are said to 330 million deities. Each one is a personification of the ultimate Lord, Brahman.

Credits: Astrogyan via myeyes33, PhotobucketGlobal Organization of HindusHOTT – Hindus of Trinidad & Tobago and Facebook

Maa Durga


(Oh Narayaani, Oh Shivi, Oh Gauri you filful the desires of all. I pray to you)

Credits: Blingee via Global Organization of Hindus, True Love of Radhe Krishna  and Facebook, Hindupath

Goddess Lakshmi


Anything that brings happiness, money, beauty, abundance, riches in life is due to the blessings of mother Mahalakshmi. It is a blessing to want more Lakshmi in your life.

Credits: Coquelico and CenterBlog via Global Organization of Hindus, True Love of Radhe Krishna and Facebook, Ma Lakshmi


The Goddess of learning, who blessed me with my academic strengths and ability to pick up new concepts and influences.

The GIF is titled “Sarasvati Maa” and is by religious image designer ‘vishnu108’ on DeviantArt.

Credits: vishnu108 and DeviantArt via Saraswati Shishu Vidya Mandir, Sarubera

Goddess Durga Devi HD

Maa Durga

Ratri means “night” and Nava means “nine”. At Navaratri (“nine nights”), the Lord in the form of the Mother Goddess is worshipped in Her various forms as Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati. Though the Goddess is one,
She is represented and worshipped in three different aspects. On the first three nights of the festival, Durga is worshipped. On the following three, Lakshmi and then Saraswati Devi on the last three nights. The followingtenth day is called Vijayadasami. Vijaya means “victory”, the victory over our own minds that can come only when we have worshipped these three: Durga, Lakshmi, and Saraswati.
– Swami Tejomayananda

Happy Navratri!!

Credits: Blogger via Global Organization of Hindus and Facebook